Week 2: “Each Life That Touches Ours For Good” (MTC Departure)

Family and friends,

  1. Each life that touches ours for good
    Reflects thine own great mercy, Lord;
    Thou sendest blessings from above
    Thru words and deeds of those who love.
  2. What greater gift dost thou bestow,
    What greater goodness can we know
    Than Christlike friends, whose gentle ways
    Strengthen our faith, enrich our days.
  3. When such a friend from us departs,
    We hold forever in our hearts
    A sweet and hallowed memory,
    Bringing us nearer, Lord, to thee.

On Monday night, we had an emotional devotional for our departure on Wednesday. Some of us had the chance to bear our testimonies and I did. Everyone was really emotional and the Spirit was so strong when we were sharing our testimonies at the Joseph Smith Hall. It’s just that my stay at the MTC has been overwhelming and the best 2 weeks of my life. This place is great. I love this place. I met amazing people and great great friends. 12 days was too short for this and it’s really making me sad you know? And lonely too because I have to adjust again to another environment and different people. It’s pretty depressing if I think about it. Relating it to the hymn, President Beck mentioned that these friends will always remain for us, though we go to different missions, we are still following the same plan— the plan of happiness. Some of us will see each other again; some will depart from us to follow the paths they have prepared for themselves. And that’s just sad. That’s why I was prompted to put Hymn 293 with this e-mail, because it just totally describes everything about the Missionary Training Center.

Man I’ll miss the MTC. I’ll miss being the pianist. The workshops. The teachers. The districts. The hymns (I learned a lot of great hymns at the MTC). Singing “Called to Serve” and “Army of Helaman” with everyone tearing up. The intensity of the SPIRIT when we sing hymns. The leaders. The staff. Their devotion. 

Everything was perfect. The best 2 weeks of my life.

Elder Poblete

Philippines San Pablo Mission

Leave a Reply

