Week 6: Pasko Na, Sinta Ko

Family, Friends, Fans,

“And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.” Mark 16:15
IMG_1551

This picture was taken in my 2nd exchange in Pagbilao which was amazing as always. I love that place. It’s rural and peaceful.

Anyway, how is everybody? It feels like I just checked my e-mail yesterday and now I’m writing another one again! I can’t believe this is my 6th weekly letter. I’ve always wanted to do this even before I went to my mission so everybody can keep up with me and feel me be with them “in spirit”. I want to express gratitude to “the great and noble ones” who developed technology for the convenience of mankind and most importantly of missionary work. I’m thinking of doing another way for you to keep up with me: through cassette tapes! Haha, 90s missionary thing.

Speaking of missionary work, by Wednesday Elder Cagadoc will leave the MTC and start his in-field training on Thursday immediately. Then on Friday, Sister Villaneza will enter the MTC and receive her training from the great and devoted staff and teachers. Truly, there is no end in missionary work. “The works of God continue, and worlds and lives abound. Improvement and progression have one eternal round.” How great is the work that we are labouring in, knowing that it has no end or beginning? It feels like yesterday we were still in primary not knowing that this day would come.
The greatest news: Mom has renewed her temple recommend after 20 years! Mom, I’ve never felt so happy for you that you can enter the temple once again. There’s no greater blessing than having a beautiful temple 30 minutes away from us which enables us to obtain blessings for ourselves and our family. Please serve in the temple faithfully. Dad, when will you receive the gospel? Time is changing. You need to move forward with us.

Another somewhat great news: I think I’m losing a pound or two every week. I barely eat anything. Missionary work could get interesting and addicting to the point that you forget to eat and it subsides your appetite. It’s funny. I hope this continues to happen. Is this another blessing for serving a full-time mission?

It’s almost Christmas time again! This time it’s gonna be different because I won’t get to spend it with my family. At college I am known for starting a Christmas countdown on September 1st, but I can’t do it now because we’re not allowed to watch TVs. Can somebody count for me? It’s gotten cold here. Days are shorter. Malls are playing Christmas songs. Most of all National Bookstore is making me Christmas-sick.

I just want you for my own more than you could ever know. Make my wish come true: All I want for Christmas is you.”
IMG_1524
Sometimes I miss everything worldly. I miss my favourite artists and tv shows. It’s another big sacrifice a missionary has to put on the altar. Eye single to the glory of God. But come on?!

I literally have nothing else to say. A day in a mission is a day of walking and finding people, chasing time as it runs from days to month and from months to years. I’ve been here for a month but time is really changing. It’s about Christmas, then summer, then August 2015 will mark the first year of my mission, rinse and repeat. It’s amazing. As I sit and ponder upon these marvelous happenings in my life, witnessing miracles every day, I come to realize how great God’s work and glory: to bring to pass the immortality and eternal life of man. And I, a mere human, a speck of the universe, a tiny particle in God’s expanding glory, is participating in this marvelous work and receiving blessings from it. Now, how can I not say that God so loves me?

Elder Poblete
Philippines San Pablo Mission
Leave a Reply

