Week 10: Of Prayers and Of Faith

Family, Friends, Fans, and Fellow Servants

How is everybody doing?

The end of October is drawing closer and we will soon enter the month of November. Time will continue so spend itself as we perform our labours for ourselves and for our families.

If you receive impression that I have no time to reply to your e-mails, know that I read each and every single one of them, with a picture in my mind of you writing these words of support to me. Through this I am strengthened with your prayers. Thank you very much.

But whatever. 22 months na lang!
I often found myself thinking about home. I think about my friends at college. Every night I even dream of the people whom I love dearly. But I know that Heavenly Father will look after you more than our mortal minds could comprehend.

Unfortunately, nothing interesting has happened this week. But I wish you’ll find it expedient that I share one of my favourite insight from the General Conference last week. I think that President Uchtdorf’s talk “Lord, Is It I?” really interesting and it really struck something in me.

He said after telling the parable of the dandelion,

“Whybeholdestthouthemotethatisinthybrother’seye,butconsiderestnotthebeamthatisinthineowneye? …“… First cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out ofthy brother’s eye.”2

This business of beams and motes seems to be closely related to our inability to see ourselves clearly. I’m notsure why we are able to diagnose and recommend remedies for other people’s ills so well, while we oftenhave difficulty seeing our own.”

Please mark cross-reference to the 4th and 5th verse of the hymn “Truth Reflects Upon Our Senses”. Jesus commands us to heal ourselves first before we heal others, just as physicians can’t tend to his patients if he himself is sick. Such is the case for us. Let us strengthen our own testimonies before we strengthen the testimonies of others; secure our faith before we secure the faith of others.

May we always follow the advice of the Great Master. May we always be mindful of ourselves before we criticize other people. These things I pray in the sacred name of Jesus Christ, amen.

Elder Poblete

Philippines San Pablo

Leave a Reply

