Week 11: Eye Single

Family, Friends, Fans, and Fellow Servants,

Thanks for the e-mail. I can’t believe more than 10 weeks have passed since I left home to embark on this marvelous and amazing work of God.

This week has been rough. I got into a huge fight with my companion, but don’t worry, everything is settled now. I think it was a very growing experience for both of us. “It does not matter who is right, but what is right.” I just have to think that what I do is in accordance to the Lord’s standards and I am not authorized to lower them down to please other people. One of the challenges I found in my mission is that you have the chance to meet and live with other people from different background and upbringing, and sometimes you just clash because it’s chaotic all over again.

Personal peace is very important to be receptive to the Spirit. Divine light does not develop in drastic places and in haste words. I am reminded of the hymn very close to me:

Where can I turn for peace?

Where is my solace

When other sources cease to make me whole?

When with a wounded heart, anger, or malice,

I draw myself apart,

Searching my soul?

He answers privately,

Reaches my reaching

In my Gethsemane, Savior and Friend.

Gentle the peace he finds for my beseeching.

Constant he is and kind,

Love without end.

Where, when my aching grows,

Where, when I languish,

Where, in my need to know, where can I run?

Where is the quiet hand to calm my anguish?

Who, who can understand?

He, only One.

Sometimes I encounter plenty of distractions in my mission. Distraction so great that it wavers the progress of missionary work. Sometimes I find myself uncomfortable in every situation I am put in. But God will never be contented to see us in our comfort zones. He will find a way to push us, to grow, to take a step forward for our eternal progression.

Sleepless nights. No appetite. Empty gazes to the window. Busy streets and traffic lights. Somehow the world is too busy to pause for a moment and look inward, to know if we are still have true happiness within ourselves.

May we always recognize the source of peace and comfort we need during times of trials and tribulations. The Atonement of Jesus Christ does not only make bad men good but also make good men better. I so testify in the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

Elder Poblete

Philippines San Pablo Mission

Leave a Reply

