Week 14: Good Measure, Pressed Down, and Shaken Together, and Running Over

Family, Friends, Fans, and Fellow Servants,

This week will end my 12-week training! My training will officially end on Thursday (end of cycle). There are chances that I will be transferred to another area or I will remain in Lucena City, but only the Lord knows what is the best for me. Even though my “training” will officially end in three days, I must admit the fact that my present companion hasn’t continued the second half of my training. What I did? I worked on my training by myself. I taught the fundamentals to myself by myself. I have to set the perfect example of a Lord’s missionaries to other missionaries, whom I expected most and looked upon. I fully utilized the supposed 2-hour companion study to catch up on what I have been missing out.

Sometimes there are days that you have stop for a moment and look inward and assess your experiences and commitments. Have I failed to progress to bring myself closer to Jesus Christ? Or in my case, have I failed to progress in being the Lord’s valiant missionary?

If there’s no help coming from other sources, then turn to the Lord for his tender mercy and grace. The Lord and his willingness to atone for our sins and shortcomings provide us comfort and strength to overcome whatever trials and challenges we experience right now. Think of the hymn that goes, “Oh, it is wonderful that He should care for me, enough to die for me, oh, it is wonderful, wonderful to me.” The Lord’s infinite Atonement becomes available to us if we do our part in this marvelous blessing.

To my family and friends who are, under any circumstances, feel down, miserable and hopeless right now—don’t ever give up. Think of the Atonement. Think of the miracles you could do and the grace you could attain if we remember our Savior’s sacrifice for us. The Lord promised us that whosoever is poor in spirit, the kingdom of heaven is theirs, and blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted.

So fear not. Strive to turn to that source of strength, which is the Atonement of Jesus Christ. The Lord is with you in your sufferings. I am with you. (Elder Cagadoc, we are with you.)

In my case, in my first 3 months of my mission, I have learned to turn to the Lord in my anguish. He has helped me in the past and He has not ceased to help me now. I was weak and He made me strong. And everyday He makes me stronger as long as I turn to him. He has done it for me, and I want to bear testimony and assurance that He will do the same thing to you. Just believe.

Elder Poblete
Philippines San Pablo Mission
Leave a Reply

