Week 20: Let the Year Die

Family, Friends, Fans, and Fellow Servants,

  1. Ring out, wild bells, to the wild sky,
    The flying cloud, the frosty light.
    The year is dying in the night;
    Ring out, wild bells, and let him die.
    The year is dying in the night;
    Ring out, wild bells, and let him die.
  2. Ring out the old; ring in the new.
    Ring, happy bells, across the snow.
    The year is going; let him go.
    Ring out the false; ring in the true.
    The year is going; let him go.
    Ring out the false; ring in the true.
  3. Ring in the valiant men and free,
    The larger heart, the kindlier hand.
    Ring out the darkness of the land;
    Ring in the Christ that is to be.
    Ring out the darkness of the land;
    Ring in the Christ that is to be.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

It was great seeing you on Skype last week! I enjoyed spending an hour watching you live from the computer screen. I say this again and again but time is indeed flying so fast. I’m already 5 months in in my mission.

This has been a great year so far. I started the year in college; now I’m ending it in my mission. I thank the Lord for all the unending and undeserving blessings that He has given me—for my family and friends who continue to support me.

At the last chapter in the Book of John, Jesus asked Peter the question, “Lovest thou me more than these?” I think of this question as a perfect reminder of us as to how we prioritize the Lord in all our doings. If our answer happens to be contrary than that of Peter, “Yea, Lord, thou knowest that I love thee,” then we need to stop and evaluate on how we are doing as the Lord’s missionaries. We are all missionaries, and our Master expects so much from all of us. He hopes to see us feed His lambs and find His sheep.

This weekly letter will be short.
Thank you for everything you have done for me.

Thank you for everything you have done with me.
This will be my last mission weekly e-mail for the year 2014.

I love you all.
Prisoner in Christ,

Elder Poblete

Leave a Reply

