Week 23: The Lord Rebukes Faithlessness and Deplores Pessimism

My beloved family, friends, and fellow servants,

I am so much grateful for the people who supported me in one of the darkest hours in my mission. Instead of writing a personalized letter, I opted to send everybody a transcript of an Elder Holland classic “An High Priest of Good Things to Come.” That remarkable piece of talk really helped me, gave me comfort in my times of distress. I am thankful for your prayers for me and for my mom, and most especially to my whole family. It was already hard leaving my family to face possible rejection and trials here in my mission, yet it is harder to receive horrible news about your family thousands of miles away.
But it is good to remember the Lord’s promise to His missionaries, ancient or modern: that He will take care of their families, that their families are in good hands, that everything will be okay in regard to their loved ones. All His missionaries ought to do is to serve Him with the singleness of their eyes, with all their heart, might, mind, and strength.
I do worry about my family on occasion, often wrought upon by pessimism and faithlessness.
I testify of the Lord’s promise, as it has occurred to my family. Mom, please take care of yourself. Devise a nutritious diet plan. Monitor your health. And most of all, DON’T MAKE YOUR SON DEAD WORRIED ABOUT YOU IN HIS MISSION. That’s the worst thing a parent can do to her missionary son. Dad, I love you and please continue to do what is right. I am sorry if everything seems different to you in your perspective, but I have always loved you as my father.
To everyone who helped my family in this time of need, thank you. Your name is blessed forever, and your generous deeds are written down in the books of heaven.
In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.
Elder Poblete
Philippines San Pablo Mission
Leave a Reply

