Week 27: Going, Going, Gone

My beloved family, friends, and fellow servants,

New cycle! I’ve been out in the field for 7 months already! Can you believe how quick the time flies? I feel like I’m going home next month! (Which I hope will not happen.)

It’s so hard to watch people leave! Most of my missionary friends in my district were transferred. Almost 1/8 of the mission left 2 weeks ago, including my trainer Elder Wanoa.

I would just like to share a part of one of my favourite General Conference talks, given by Elder Jeffrey R. Holland. It’s really special to me as it talks about the commitments missionaries make to the Saviour. Having narrated Peter’s exchange with his Lord at the shore of Galillee, he described Christ’s reply as something that could possibly be delivered like this:

“To which Jesus responded (and here again I acknowledge my nonscriptural elaboration), perhaps saying something like:“Then Peter, why are you here? Why are we back on this same shore, by these same nets, having this same conversation?Wasn’t it obvious then and isn’t it obvious now that if I want fish, I can get fish? What I need, Peter, are disciples—and Ineed them forever. I need someone to feed my sheep and save my lambs. I need someone to preach my gospel anddefend my faith. I need someone who loves me, truly, truly loves me, and loves what our Father in Heaven hascommissioned me to do. Ours is not a feeble message. It is not a fleeting task. It is not hapless; it is not hopeless; it is notto be consigned to the ash heap of history. It is the work of Almighty God, and it is to change the world. So, Peter, for thesecond and presumably the last time, I am asking you to leave all this and to go teach and testify, labor and serve loyallyuntil the day in which they will do to you exactly what they did to me.”

Don’t forget whom you serve! Don’t leave the church. Don’t let go of your commitments. Treasure the promises that you’ve made with God.

I pray that when I get home I will still find my home ward the same as it was when I left for my mission. I hope to see it grow even bigger! We all have commitments, we all have work to do.

Elder Poblete

Philippines San Pablo Mission

Leave a Reply

