Week 34: Spiritual Shortsightedness

My beloved family, friends, and fellow servants,

Happy Easter! I hope everyone enjoyed egg hunting. That’s my favourite Easter tradition. I remember vividly that when I was a kid in my Primary class, my teacher would tell us that we are about to start the egg hunting. Happiness and excitement would fill my heart and mind as I imagine myself being the only kid who would find the most number of eggs. I would only later realized that I could get really shortsighted in winning the prize.
In this weekly letter I wish to briefly discuss with you how we, as mere human beings, could be “spiritually shortsighted”. This sight impairment can be defined we tend to forget who we truly are and who we are capable of becoming when critical situations arises,
I wish to share with you a recent talk delivered at a BYU devotional by Sister Cheryl A. Esplin. She says,

A second principle of living the abundant life is revealed in Isaiah’s words: “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.”11

Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin echoed this thought when he said:

Our search for the abundant life is cloaked not only in the robes of this mortal clay; its true end can only be comprehended from the perspective of the eternities that stretch infinitely before us.12

Elder Wirthlin taught us that an eternal perspective is important in our quest for the abundant life.

In this journey of life, it is important for us to understand God’s plan. Change, challenges, trials, and temptations are temporary and prepare us for eternal life.

In a speech Elder James A. Cullimore gave at BYU, he related an experience once told by religious writer Harleigh M. Rosenberger:

Several years ago a man was being interviewed on the radio. He had started to walk across the United States on foot, from California to New York. He had reached a point halfway across. Reporters asked him about his experience. Finally the question came: “Sir, what would you say has been your most difficult experience so far?”

The traveler thought long. Through his mind went the toilsome climb over mountain passes; hot dry stretches of desert. Sun. Wind. Then he said quietly, “I guess my greatest problem was that the sand kept getting into my shoes.

So that was it. The sand in his shoes. Not some great crisis that he had faced. Not some danger that had almost taken his life. But sand; sand that wore blisters on the soles of his feet. Sand that ground its way into the pores of his skin and irritated constantly, that made every step an agony. Sand in his shoes. . . .

. . . Now there was one hint that the hiker suggested when the sand got into his shoes. He had to stop and dump the sand from them.13

In our journey in life we too are troubled with sand in our shoes—sand in the form of change, challenges, trials, and temptations. We can either let these things stop us short of our goal or we can find ways to dump the sand from our shoes and continue our journey.

My dear friends, I hope you will not lose sight of the eternal perspective. Problems may arise, troubles may occur, but our goal is that of an eternal goal. We are sons and daughters of a Heavenly Father, who desires that we all come back to Him with an exalted glory. Trials and challenges are nothing but sand in our shoes, and we need to stop and dump the sand from them.
Jesus Christ’s Atonement manifested its true power and glory in the Lord’s resurrection on the 3rd day. I pray that this Easter season we will remind ourselves of our divine purpose here on earth, that through following the example of Jesus Christ, we can all be resurrected in glory. I testify of that.
Elder Poblete
Philippines San Pablo Mission
Leave a Reply

