Week 39: When I Survey the Wondrous Cross

Family, friends, and fellow servants,

Thanks for joining me in Skype! I had a great experience talking with you again.
I’m out of words, so I’m just going to make this weekly e-mail short.
Thanks for the support. It’s been a great time serving as the Lord’s full-time missionary.
Thanks for the love, for the care when I was suffered some moments of homesickness. Thank you for realizing that you are always there for me.
No matter what happens, I am the Lord’s missionary, and always will be, even beyond the grave. I shall go and do whatever the Lord hath commanded me.
And whether I finish my mission or not, I shall rest and lay me down to sleep and look back on all these experiences. Even then I cannot deny that Jesus is the Christ, that He is my Saviour and Redeemer, and that I’m willing to sacrifice everything for Him.
And now I cry out with Isaac Watts, who in his amazing hymn he wrote:
  1. When I survey the wondrous cross
    On which the Prince of glory died,
    My richest gain I count but loss,
    And pour contempt on all my pride.
  2. Forbid it, Lord, that I should boast,
    Save in the death of Christ my God!
    All the vain things that charm me most,
    I sacrifice them to His blood.
  3. See from His head, His hands, His feet,
    Sorrow and love flow mingled down!
    Did e’er such love and sorrow meet,
    Or thorns compose so rich a crown?
  4. Were the whole realm of nature mine,
    That were a present far too small;
    Love so amazing, so divine,
    Demands my soul, my life, my all.
 
I love you all. I will see you soon.
 
Elder Poblete
Philippines San Pablo Mission
Leave a Reply

