Week 51: Kind of Spain, Kind of New Orleans

Dear family and friends,

I’m so tired; I haven’t had enough sleep yet. So transfer day was on Thursday, but I wasn’t to go to my new area in Pila yet; I had to sleep over in San Pablo for district leaders conference on Friday. Then we went on with all the meeting and the travel. After the meeting ended, I told the assistants that I didn’t know where the area is, I didn’t have the phone, and I didn’t have enough money to use if I should get lost. So they were feeling compassionate that they offered to drive me to the area apartment… something they didn’t even know where.
Anyway, I feel that I should tell you that Pila is a great looking bayan. I am re-opening an area; that means the previous missionaries were pulled out for some reasons. This is my first time re-opening an area! And my companion is Elder Taguiam (Elder Salanio’s trainer). When I arrived at the apartment, I cried a little bit…. Mostly the reason was that the apartment was, and still is, filthy dirty. The water is brown and itchy. I can’t poop in the toilet because it’s green and moldy and stuff. I literally cried. As a result, I try to poop in the chapel and I take a bath in the laundry area where there is no door. I’ve never felt so poor in my entire life. But don’t put too much thought about this. A kind foreign couple in branch, Brother and Sister Brown, has been looking a new apartment for us to stay. We hope to move out soon! : )
The houses here are superb. The local officials are preserving the heritage and ancestral houses originally dating back to the Spanish era. Some of the houses were used as a setting to different famous local TV shows and movies. The weather is a little bit hot, but not that humid. The people are kinder, too. There is one old huge Catholic huge just a block away from my apartment. The plaza square offers an amazing picture of the orangey skies during dusk.
I should end with a few pictures!
​After the 2 hour travel from San Pablo to Santa Cruz, we had dinner at McDonalds with the zone leaders (both Bisayas), the assistants, and Elder Mumm and his 3-day old trainee.
​After the 2 hour travel from San Pablo to Santa Cruz, we had dinner at McDonalds with the zone leaders (both Bisayas), the assistants, and Elder Mumm and his 3-day old trainee.

unnamed (1)

​Can you believe this? A 7/11 built inside an ancestral house!
More pictures in my picture mail thread!
Elder Poblete
Philippines San Pablo Mission
Leave a Reply

