Week 35: My Second #LDSconf

My beloved family, friends, and fellow servants,

I hope you enjoyed, as I did, another inspiring and magnificent General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
I wish to share with you my personal highlights of the conference.
Elder Michael T. Ringwood: “In a world where praise, position, power, accolades, and authority are sought on every side, I honor those wonderful and blessed souls who are truly good and without guile, those who are motivated by a love of God and their neighbors, those great women and men who are “more anxious to serve than to have dominion.”
Elder David A. Bednar: “The counsel Alma gave to his son Helaman applies precisely to each of us today: “Yea, see that ye look to God and live” (Alma 37:47). We should look to and have our focus firmly fixed upon the Savior at all times and in all places.”
Elder M. Russel Ballard: “Which leads me to another bit of counsel that I’m sure you knew was coming: You single adults need to date and marry. Please stop delaying! I know some of you fear family formation. However, if you marry the right person at the right time and in the right place, you need not fear. In fact, many problems you encounter will be avoided if you are “anxiously engaged” in righteous dating, courting, and marriage. Don’t text her! Use your own voice to introduce yourself to the righteous daughters of God who are all around you. To actually hear a human voice will shock her—perhaps into saying yes.”
Sister Linda K. Burton: “We know from the scriptures that “it is not good that … man should be alone.” That is why our Heavenly Father made “an help meet for him.” The phrase help meet means “a helper suited to, worthy of, or corresponding to him.” For example, our two hands are similar to each other but not exactly the same. In fact, they are exact opposites, but they complement each other and are suited to each other. Working together, they are stronger.”
Elder Brent H. Nielson: “The Savior’s words in the parable as He describes the father greeting his prodigal son are powerful, and I believe they may be the description of the experience you and I will have with the Father when we return to our heavenly home. They teach us of a father who loves, waits, and watches. These are the words of the Savior: “When he was yet a great way off, his father saw him, and had compassion, and ran, and fell on his neck, and kissed him” (Luke 15:20).”
And most of all, Elder Robert D. Hales powerful prophetic warning: “Our Savior’s Second Coming is drawing nearer. Let us not delay in this great cause.”
I personally think that General Conference just gets better and better every time. I think you might want to ponder and pray about the messages that have been addressed to every single one of us. Just as the Nephites did after the Saviour’s ministry unto them, they returned to their homes and remembered, prayed about, and lived the words of the Lord, for the Holy Ghost has borne witness unto them about the truthfulness of messages of Christ.
I love it when it is turn for the congregation and choir to sing together at General Conference. This conference we sang the hymn “I Know That My Redeemer Lives”, and it meant more meaningfully to me. During the Sunday Morning session, my attention was little disturbed because of the annoying kid sitting behind me. But as the congregation in the chapel stood up to sing the hymn, the Spirit touched me when I heard the kid sang all his heart about his Redeemer.
The General Conference is made for us. We have the solemn obligation to gain spiritual experiences from our living prophets and appointed servants. I do pray that the General Conference will become more meaningful to you as it has been to me.
Elder Poblete
Philippines San Pablo Mission
Leave a Reply

