Week 36: Almost Home

Cebu-City-Philippines-Temple2

My beloved family, friends, and fellow servants,

In this weekly letter I do not wish to account for my labours. I only wish to briefly express sentiments that have been bothering me for quite a while.
Perhaps the only sad thing about serving in a mission far away from the Manila area is that you won’t get the chance to attend to the temple. I hope most of you returned missionaries, who are in the same circumstance as me can relate to my emotions today. I am in the days when I am in special need of heaven’s help, and what is more than heartfelt morning and evening prayers and diligence and obedience in the work is a cultivating desire to feel again the peace that can only be felt within the temple walls.
This thought has been with me since the General Conference last week. I remember President Thomas S. Monson saying:
“My brothers and sisters, in our lives we will have temptations; we will have trials and challenges. As we go to the temple, as we remember the covenants we make there, we will be better able to overcome those temptations and to bear our trials. In the temple we can find peace.”
I am longing for the temple. I am longing for the peace that only a House of the Lord can bring. I haven’t heard from my families for quite a long time already. Oh, I miss home! If only I can go home and attend my home temple and enjoy that peace again.
Elder Poblete
Philippines San Pablo Mission
Leave a Reply

